Former pupils of King George V School were 'Old Boys', and leavers were invited to join the Old Boys' Association, the first chairman of which was Kenneth Bridge in 1947. From 1979 Old Boys became Old Georgians following the foundation of King George V College, which enrolled both female and male students. Even in recent years, social events have mainly been male-dominated, but there are now encouraging signs of increased participation by 'Old Girls' at both the Annual Dinner and other social events during the year, indeed the association has had two lady Chairmen in recent years.

The Presidency of the Association was held by the Head Master of the School, but more recently by the Principal of the College. Since 1983, the Presidency of the Association has been held by women - Geraldine Evans, Hilary Anslow, Adele Wills and now Anne-Marie Francis, in an acting role.

The fee for Life Membership of the Association was £5. This was to cover recurring production and issue of the annual newsletter. In 2014, an option for free membership was introduced for those who are willing to the read the annual newsletter on line. Anyone wishing to join should use the link on the home page of the web site. Those who want to receive a hard copy of the newsletter should send a cheque for £10 payable to 'The Old Georgians' Association' to FAO Old Georgians Association at King George V College, Scarisbrick New Road, Southport PR8 4LR - Telephone 01704 530601.


The relationship between KGV and its former students has been a strong one. In the days of the School, there were many functions - particularly in sport - involving Old Boys, and the Annual Dinner has been a long-standing fixture in the calendar. Former staff are automatically enrolled in to the Association if they so wish and are welcome to attend the dinner, as many have in recent years. In recent years, Old Georgians have continued to support the College, both financially and in other ways. Several former pupils have been and are still on the Governing Body. Campus buildings have been named after former pupils and staff, including Ronnie Fearn, Geoffrey Dixon and there is a laboratory in the name of Ken Rostron, who supported the College and the Association throughout his working life. As previously written, the College Principal, like the School Headmaster formerly, is President of the Old Georgians Association.

The Committee

The Committee is made up of former holders of the Chair of the Association, along with co-opted members and the College Principal. Officers are elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Old Georgians Association immediately preceding the Annual Dinner on Maundy Thursday. The 2019 - 2020 Committee is:

President : Michelle Brabner
Vice Presidents : Former Chairmen & Presidents
Chairman : Graham Cox
Vice-Chairman : Dave Harrison
Secretary : Martin Fearn
Treasurer : David Lonsdale
Red Rose Editor : Jonathan Elliott
Membership Secretary : Neil Spencer
Web Site Manager : Matthew Duffy
Social Secretary : Jonathan Elliott
Education Foundation Trustees : Catherine Lapsley, Neil Spencer
College Representative : Pam Shea

General Committee : Former Chairmen & Co-optees


Neil Spencer
2 Carnarvon Road, Southport, Merseyside, PR8 4SE
Email: peely13@sky.com

Martin Fearn
4 Palm Grove, Southport PR86AD

Jonathan Elliott
c/o KGV College
Email : jonelliott61@hotmail.com
Tel : 07969 889843

Jonathan Elliot
c/o KGV College
Tel : 07969 889843

Analytics by GoSquared